My home made Kani Salad

This is what I made last month. It’s a very simple japanese dish or appetizer if you want to call it. The only thing that’s missing here is the ebiko (If you’ve eaten kani salad before in a japanese restaurant, these are the orange thingies that tops the salad). It was very difficult to find ebiko here, I’ve seen a small package once in a frozen section of a particular grocery, but it was very pricey.

The usual recipe calls for cucumber, kani sticks (imitation crab sticks) and of course, it won’t be a salad if the dressing is missing – the japanese mayonnaise! I go for the Kewpie brand (he japanese reads it as KIYU-PI). I don’t know if there are other japanese mayonnaise brands out there but this is the only brand available here and it has the same taste as those served in japanese restaurants.

The first Kani salad I’ve tried only had cucumber, crab sticks, ebiko and japanese mayonnaise, but the last time I ate at a japanese restaurant, they added lettuce leaves, not a bad idea. So last month, I decided to make one with lettuce.

This is my own recipe for 2 – 3 people.

3 cups  lettuce, shredded

1 ½ cups cucumber, sliced into thin strips

1 cup crab sticks, shredded (or you can add some more, depends on your taste)

½ tsp ebiko (optional)

Japanese mayonnaise (KEWPIE BRAND)

Kewpie Japanese Mayonnaise

Layer the following ingredients on a serving plate: Lettuce, cucumber, crab sticks, japanese mayonnaise and lastly, sprinkle the ebiko on top.

You can also try the salad without the lettuce and it would still taste great and  refreshing. I would really suggest that you try making this at home, because it’s fun, and much cheaper compared to those served in Japanese restaurants;  just make sure that the mayonnaise is cold before you use it on the salad :D

