It's not what you expect...

I watched this movie last night, last full show in the mall cinema and there were less than twenty people who watched, including us. I only saw the trailer of this movie twice, the part where the blond girl was just about to kill a dragon and I have to admit, it got my attention. There was an japanese anime-ish feel to it and I guess that was the reason I wanted to watch it.

The main characters have unique names – Baby Doll (Emily Browning), Sweet Pea (Abbie Cornish), Rocket (Jena Malone), Blondie (Vanessa Hudgens) and the simplest name of all, Amber (Jamie Chung). It was kind of weird to have a name Blondie when her hair was all black! Well anyway, that’s not the reason why I’m writing this.

I have to agree with the movie caption – ‘YOU WILL BE UNPREPARED’ everyone WAS unprepared for what they saw. The movie switches from reality to Baby Doll’s world, where she fights giant samurai warriors in feudal Japan, robotic Nazi soldiers in World War I, now accompanied by Sweet Pea, Rocket, Blondie and Amber and the last one where they have to fight off a bunch of robots (that reminded me of AI, Will Smith’s movie) inside a train and try to deactivate a bomb.

Now, all of the fighting, gun shooting, samurai hacking scenes do not really happen, it was all just in Baby Doll’s other ‘mind’. I said in other ‘mind’ because in reality, she is in a mental institution, where doctors, orderlies and any other person represent another character in her head. When she retreats into her fantasy world, they all work in a club owned by a mafia. And this is the fun part: there are three scenes here where Baby Doll dances, sends the audience into a trance at the same time, she goes into another fantasy world where she can kill anyone in her way. Nice? Yes, only for the fighting part. Why? All throughout the movie, I was at the edge of my seat, wondering if I could ever see her DANCE! Yes, they never actually showed how Baby Doll danced, she’s just going to sway left to right, the camera zooms in on her eyes as she closes it and then she is transported into her war torned world. And this happened three times, not even once did they show her dance!

Overall, the movie was  not that great to get a WOW! from me, I was on the edge of being bored…CGI scenes, fight scenes, are great. Actors are…frankly speaking, I only know Vanessa Hudgens and just familiar with Abbie Cornish, but the other girls? Nope. But if you are looking for a VERY noisy movie with lots of CGI fight scenes, girls with guns, a dancer who never got to show what her dance was really like, feel free to go ahead and watch this movie, all 109 minutes of it.

This is not a real movie review…I just thought I would write things that I saw in the movie that put a mark inside my head.

