Last Sunday, we were invited for an early dinner treat at Sakae Sushi – obviously, from the name itself, it’s a Japanese restaurant. When I was being invited a few days earlier, I thought it was just a Japanese restaurant, much like Rai Rai Ken or Kitaro Sushi, but I was in for a surprise of my life.

Sakae Sushi is a chain of Japanese restaurants from Singapore. It has more than 10 branches in Singapore and has branched out to other Asian countries – Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, China and has three branches here in the Philippines. Like any typical Japanese Restaurant, they serve sushi (what else?) and other Japanese staples. But this is where the fun starts. The sushi is served on a conveyor belt. For the video, please check out my Youtube channel for the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jaYqyH4mBoM or you can just view it below.  Upon entering the place, my attention was focused on the colorful plates on the conveyor belt – I’ve never seen so much sushi in my life! Because of that, I almost forgot to pay attention to the whole place itself!

Initial reaction upon entering: WOW! Although I didn’t show it, I was amazed – yes, because it’s the first time I’ve been in a japanese restaurant with a sushi conveyor belt. I’ve seen this before on movies and Youtube but I never thought there’s already one here in the country. Never mind the ambiance of the place; I just wanted to look at the long line of sushi(s) going along the tables where customers are waiting to choose their pick. I’d have to say the place looked like a typical japanese fast food resto, except that it boasts of the sushi conveyor belt.

It's really worth the money for sushi & maki lovers

For the price of P399 (around $9.50) you get an eat-all-you-can sushi that comes with a small bowl of miso soup and your

choice of bottomless hot or cold green tea. And what do you know, there’s a separate price for kids at P199 (around $4.73) The price is really worth it if you really love sushi. Each plate is color coded for those who do not want to avail of the sushi buffet:

color coded prices for the sushi & maki plates

Blue plate – P39 (around 92 cents)

Yellow plate – P59 (around $1.40)

Green plate – P79 (around $1.88)

Red plate – P99 (around $2.35)

Just two things though, I know that when sushi is made, a very small amount of wasabi is placed between the rice and the fish (or whatever’s on top of the rice) but at Sakae Sushi, there was none. It’s a safer choice for those who cannot tolerate the flavor of wasabi. Second, we had no way to identify what kind of sushi we were picking. Although I am familiar with tamago, tobiko, salmon & tuna sushi I am at a loss figuring out what kind of sushi I was eating. So I only pick out what caught my attention. First one was the maki fried in tempura batter topped with chopped pieces of kani, carrots and cucumber, then there’s also the red plate, a sushi topped with asparagus and salmon – again, I have no idea what it’s called. And there’s the green tobiko sushi – which surprised me because it tasted like wasabi. I guess I can call it wasabi spiked tobiko sushi; the wasabi flavor comes in last after you have chewed, much like an explosion and will be gone after a few seconds. We ate several more ‘unidentified’ plates after that, and the last one really caught my taste buds’ attention. I did some research and I found out its name: Saba sushi (Mackarel sushi). Now this one is very different from all sushi I’ve tasted. It was almost cooked and sour because of the curing process.

Some of the unidentified maki we picked and enjoyed eating 😀

Just a closer view: maki fried in tempura batter topped with chopped kani, carrots & cucumber in japanese mayonnaise

Ramune lime soda - a little remembrance from Sakae Sushi 😀

Overall experience: It was sushi heaven! I want to go back there!  Of course, I want to thank the people who invited us to this wonderful place – Ate Grace and Kuya Francis, arigatou gozaimasu!

