Manga

Kimi wa Petto manga by Yayoi Ogawa

Kimi wa Petto was originally a manga by Yayoi Ogawa, and in 2003 it was made into a Japanese drama spanning ten episodes, starring Jun Matsumoto & Koyuki. I thought Jun Matsumoto was cute here, hehe! Oh, if you have no idea who Jun Matsumoto is, Google search the J-pop group ARASHI, you’ll find out who he is 😀

Kimi wa Petto - Japanese series

Jun Matsumoto and Koyuki

Another pic for Jang Geun-Suk and Kim Ha-neul

Neoneun Pet on the other hand, is the Korean remake of the said Japanese drama, only this time, it’s been made into a movie. Starring Jang Geun Suk (Maerineun Oebakjoong or Marry Me Mary, sometimes known as Mary Stayed Out All Night and One Missed Call Final) and Kim Ha-neul (gosh, I really find it difficult to write Korean names!) I thought they were going to make it as a drama too, but I was surprised to find out it was a movie to be shown in Korea November 2011 and January 2012 in Japan.

In-ho

Geun-suk as In-ho

Both the Japanese and Korean titles mean You’re my Pet. In the Japanese drama, Iwaya Sumire (Koyuki) finds a man (Jun Matsumoto) inside a box and takes him home. She found him looking like the dog she once had as a kid and gives him the name “Momo”. Little did she know that Momo is Goda Takeshi – a dance prodigy.

Now, which could be better? The Japanese drama or the Korean movie with the same story? Honestly, I don’t like the way Japanese actors act – to sum it up in one word, corny. I’m really curious as to how the Korean version would fit the whole story into one movie. But, they’ve just finished filming the movie, I wish they would show it here too – but I doubt that’s going to happen.

Last day of filming for the movie

Jang Geun-suk and Kim Ha-Neul

