My home made ddukkboki 🙂

It’s red, it’s hot and spicy, it’s ddukkboki!

This is a Korean dish (I’ve actually written about this before – dukbokki-and-odeng) made up of tube shaped rice cakes, green onions, in dried anchovy stock made hot and spicy (and red too) by hot pepper paste (gochujang). It was actually a dream come true when a few months before, we found this small Korean grocery called Ha-neul Mart.  I’ve often passed by this grocery when I used to work in the area but it went completely ignored because I didn’t cook Korean food during that time.

Ha-neul Mart is a small grocery, that I actually thought it was like a 7-11 that sells Korean items. But as I got to look around, I saw that there were also frozen goods, from dumplings to odeng, as wells as basic ingredients needed in Korean cooking such as onions, garlic, green onions and carrots, and some small pots and pans too (a necessity for those who like to cook ramyeon) and some other kitchen stuff.

ddukkbokki (rice cakes), Dangmyeon (glass noodles) & odeng (fish cakes)

But don’t underestimate this small Korean grocery because it made my one of my dreams come true – they had dukbokkie and odeng available! Just ask the friendly staff – yup, they greet you in Korean as soon as you walk in! Annyeonghaseyo! And one more thing, I bought a 500g pack of dangmyeon, (glass noodles used in making japchae) for a very low price of P85, around $2.  I bought this item before in groceries and it cost more than double of the price in Ha-neul Mart! So, this is where I bought all the ingredients to make dukbokkie – as listed in Maangchi’s recipe, gochujang (hot pepper paste), the rice cakes and odeng, except for the green onion and dried anchovies.

It was so easy to make this dish just by following Maangchi’s recipe. In just a few minutes I was able to make soft, rice cakes in red, hot and spicy broth. The good thing about cooking this dish yourself is that you can adjust the spiciness by increasing or decreasing the amount of hot pepper paste you put in. But I like it really spicy! You can also put a twist into the dish by adding a few ingredients, such as odeng or thinly sliced carrot. I added odeng when I made this and it tasted equally great.  Just one thing though, make sure to eat it while its hot; as the rice cakes are still soft. The rice cakes tend to become more chewy when it gets cold.

If you want to watch  Maangchi’s video, check out below:

Or, if you want the ddukbokkie recipe, click on the link 🙂 that goes directly to Maangchi’s website.

Happy cooking!

