Tekken: Blood Vengeance (2011) much better than the 2010 live action crap - I mean film

I am not a Tekken fan.  Sure, I played the game before – not sure which Tekken that was though, but I really wasn’t into it, unlike Soul Calibur. But I watched the movie…no, not the 2010 crap. I meant the 2011 CGI movie, Tekken: Blood Vengeance.

Initial reaction at the start of the movie – confusion. I have zero knowledge with Tekken history. I know a few of the character’s names, but that’s it. The movie began with Anna and Nina starting off in a fight. First, I was thinking, who could be the protagonist and the antagonist.  As it turns out, they’re both antagonists; with Anna working for Kazuya Mishima and Nina working for Jin Kazama. Both Jin and Kazuya wanted the same thing, or in this case, person, in the name of Shin Kamiya. Anna sends Ling Xiaoyu to spy on Shin Kamiya while Nina sends Alisa Bosconovitch to do the same thing.

Ling Xiaoyu in her plain school uniform, Alisa Bosconovitch reminds me of some anime character, Anna WIlliams - no comment and Nina WIlliams; Baroness from G.I. Joe, The Rise of Cobra, anyone?

To begin with, I’m only familiar with Jin Kazama and that he’s somewhat related to Heihachi Mishima and that Jin wants to kill Heihachi. Well, this is still true in this movie. I was in for a surprise (and even more confusion) after Xiaoyu announced that Heihachi is Kazuya’s father and Jin is Kazuya’s son.  Ok, I immediately hit the pause and rewind button. Three generations in Tekken universe, fighting against each other? Aside from that, they were going after the same person. Why?

Jin Kazama and Devil Jin - it's like a GF from Final Fantasy

It was a one on one on one fight towards the end of the movie. It’s father versus son versus grandfather (they just want to kill each other, simple as that…with Kazuya transforming into Devil (if that is what it’s simply called) as well as Jin. Alright…another wave of confusion. With Heihachi temporarily out of the way, the two Devils duke it out – I just don’t know who’s who now, with both Jin and Kazuma looking like, well, demons complete with wings and tail…

And then just when you thought Heihachi is dead, he awakens the spirit of Mokujin, creating a giant made up of thousands if not millions of Mokujins, and destroying Kyoto Castle in the process, while fighthing Devil Jin. I guess now I have to say that Alisa saves the day – yeah, a humanoid robot that looks like a japanese pop idol saved the day.

Yeah, I think I need to watch this movie again, but first, I think I need to brush up on Tekken history. At least, in the movie, Xiaoyu and Alisa become good friends.

I want this giant panda, simply named 'Panda'

So now, someone get me Xiaoyu’s Panda! It’s so big and cute and cuddly! It runs fast too! 😀

