Welcome to Disneyland Hongkong

I’ve always wanted to go out of the country, so when the opportunity came, I quickly grabbed it. We were able to book a flight last December 2011 for Hongkong, and we were scheduled to leave on May 2012. Not a problem, I thought. It’ still five months away – NOT!

Like I said on another blog, I found out I was pregnant last February. It was not a good idea to travel, especially when you’re still in your first trimester. I wanted to rebook the flight but we were told it will cost us double if we rebook it for next year. And by that time I already have my baby and I didn’t want to leave my baby then. So a decision was made, my husband and I, along with a few relatives will leave for HK. So, this is a blog, from a pregnant woman’s point of view.

Inside the train to Disneyland

Day 1, arrival:  we’ve been up since 3am that day to catch the early flight. I knew there would be a lot of walking involved on this trip. I never get tired easily and never experience body pains from just walking alone, but that time, it was DIFFERENT. My husband and I had our own itinerary for day 1 – go to HK Disneyland, on commute with just a written guide on how to get to Disneyland.

First off, buy Disneyland tickets at the airport. Already a lot of walking involved. My back started to hurt and I ignored it. I figured once we get inside a bus I can sit down and relax. NOT!

The instructions said to take the E22 bus from the airport via Tung Chung which costs HK $18/person. Wrong! A nice lady told us to take the S1 bus as well as an E22 bus driver. So for the nth time we headed back to airport exit, took a look at bus schedules and fares. But we we’re still unsure. I can’t recall how many times we went back and forth to the airport, but for the first time, my thighs began to hurt and my back hurts now and I can definitely use a wheelchair by then. This never happened to me before, even during long walks. It was noon when we finally got on a S1 bus which cost only HK $3.50/person; I was tired, the lower part of my body hurt and I was hungry and thirsty all at the same time and this is equivalent to a very grumpy pregnant woman.

We finally got to Tung Chung station, where we took a train and got down at Sunny Bay station, then transferred to another train going to Disneyland, directly. And I was still grumpy. When we got there it was past noon and it was hot, I was so disappointed because I was expecting we’d be there before noon with the instructions given to us.

Eating lunch was the first thing on my mind. Lunch was included in the tickets we bought and we decided to eat at the nearest restaurant my feet can take me – at Comet Café at Tomorrow Land. I’m a big rice eater and I decided to eat braised tofu with mushrooms and cucumber rice bowl – and boy, serving was BIG. Included with the meal was a 500ml bottle of water, as well as chopsticks and spoon. This was an open air restaurant, but it wasn’t as hot as I expected it to be.

braised tofu with mushrooms and cucumber rice bowl

I was fully satisfied after I finished eating. Service was quick, and there are a lot of vacant tables. My mood started to feel better after eating, but not my left thigh which hurt like hell. But I did manage to walk, but not without resting on a bench whenever I see one.

The hippo at Jungle River Cruise in Adventure Land

We still managed to explore the whole park – we went on a Jungle River Cruise at Adventure Land (I enjoyed this one), then got on a train to go around the whole park. These were the only rides that I can go to since the other ones might be too rough for me. But it wasn’t the perfect, happy experience I was expecting because the day began wrong. We only had less than half day to roam the park and my painful left thigh did not help at all. I guess the only saving grace for me was the souvenir shops. I think I went inside all of them just to enjoy the air-condition. Oh, but we did get some nice pictures and a souvenir – a Mickey and Minnie mouse keychain.

That’s one BIG yawn!

Poor guy, his butt is about to be poked by the rhino’s horn! 😀 This is also a prt of the Jungle River cruise, and yeah, those guys move!

Me, Goofy and my husband

Although I wanted to take a picture with Mickey and Minnie mascots, the line was just too long! So, we settled for Goofy before we went out of the park. I wanted Chip and Dale but as soon as there were only two people ahead of us in the line, they went inside and out came Goofy. To Goofy: You have such a big hand, you slapped my back like you were trying to kill an very big insect >_<

Around five in the afternoon I wanted to go home, I didn’t want to be a part of the rush hour at the MTR and I couldn’t tolerate the pain in my left thigh – to prove it, climbing stairs at the MTR station was torture I had to hold on to my husband’s hand like a cane, for support. Reaching the hotel and finally able to lie down on the bed was pure bliss. Nothing could make me leave that spot, except for food.

My late dinner that evening. I could have eaten two of these at one sitting.

That evening, the family was invited for dinner by a close friend who happened to be having a vacation at HK as well. No, I did not go with them. I chose the bed, I only wanted to lie down and as soon as I did, I fell asleep. I only woke up when my husband came in, holding my dinner late that night.

