kimbapPressed for time and ingredients, I rummaged through the fridge with whatever I can use so I can fix my husband lunch before he goes to work that day – and I came up with spinach, a carrot, mayonnaise. Going through the cupboard, I got a can of tuna, sesame seeds and nori sheets. Rice was just about ready in the rice cooker. Why not kimbap?

I simply mixed about 2 tbsp of mayonnaise to the tuna (drained) and added pepper  (and salt, if you prefer). Blanched the spinach, squeezed the leaves and added some soy sauce and sesame oil and stir fried the julienned carrots. For the steamed rice, I added sesame oil and sesame seeds. Yeah, I know…I forgot the eggs. But even without eggs the kimbap tasted great. I guess this is as healthy as it can get, kimbap with vegetables 🙂

Rummaging through the fridge for the last time, I found the left over pasta my husband cooked last night. I honestly don’t know what to call this pasta dish, this is pasta sautéed in garlic and onion, with oyster sauce and chili oil – I used Lee Kum Kee Chiu Chow chili oil (for that ‘kick’). This was actually another one of my ideas in the kitchen, I’ll try to post the recipe one of these days.

